WE ARE CURRENTLY ONLY ACCEPTING CASH IN THE AMOUNT OF $43.50, YOU MUST HAVE THE EXACT AMOUNT AS CHANGE WILL NOT BE MADE * CERTIFIED COPIES ARE $5.00 EACH, AND YOU MUST BRING THE EXACT PAYMENT AMOUNT, UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE.
Marriage Licenses may be applied for in person at the Probate Court between the hours of 8:30 a.m. - 4:45 p.m., Monday through Friday. You may pick up your license until 5:00 p.m. The Probate Court is located in Room 207 in the Richland County Judicial Center at 1701 Main Street, Columbia, SC.
Both parties must be present to apply for a Marriage License. If you are over the age of eighteen (18), you must bring two forms of identification.
The first form of identification you both are required to bring is your Social Security Card.
The second form of identification may be one of the following:
- Driver's License, or state issued identification card.
- Military Identification.
- Passport with a current visa attached (if not a U.S. Citizen).
If you are under the age of eighteen (18) you must bring a Certified Copy of your Long Form Birth Certificate which will be kept on file and a parent or guardian must accompany the minor and give consent.
Persons who are applying and have been divorced within the last thirty (30) days, must bring a clocked copy of the order granting divorce with them.
If paying with cash, the fee is $43.50 (effective July 1, 2015). If paying by credit or debit card, the fee is $45.24 (effective July 1, 2015). There is a 24 hour waiting period before you can receive your marriage license. You must have your receipt in order to pick up the marriage license. You do not have to be a resident of this state to apply for a marriage license but the ceremony must be performed in South Carolina by ministers of the Gospel, accepted Jewish Rabbis or officers authorized to administer oaths in South Carolina (Notary Public). A blood test is not required. For additional information you should contact the Marriage License Division at (803) 576-1992.
Please note: Effective July 2006, a one time $50.00 tax credit is available for premarital counseling. The certification must be signed by the counselor and submitted at the time of making the application. Click here for the form.
For your convenience
The Marriage License Division can have your license returned to you by mail once the twenty-four(24) hour waiting period is up, you will need to provide the court with a sixty-five cent ($0.65) self-addressed envelope at the time of making the application for the marriage license.
Additional Resources & Services
Online Marriage License Inquiry
Need a Copy of a Marriage License
FAQs on applying for a Marriage License
Marriage License Division (S.C. Code of Laws, Title 20, Chapter 1)
Social Security Administration - SS Card Replacement
SS-5 Form - Apply for a new SS Card