## **Hospitality Tax Committee**

Purpose(s)/Service(s): The Committee shall review applications of those entities who are seeking funding from the County Promotions portion of the Hospitality Tax funds. The Committee will then make recommendations to County Council for the allocation and distribution of such funds.

The Committee shall consist of **FIVE** (5) members appointed for **TWO** (2) year terms, or until a successor is appointed. All members must be citizens residing in the County. At least **TWO** (2) members must represent the Restaurant Industry and the rest be at large positions. Members shall not serve more than **TWO** (2) consecutive terms; however, upon service of **TWO** (2) consecutive terms a member may be eligible for reappointment after **ONE** (1) year of non-service.

The Committee meets twice during normal working hours in March/April at 2020 Hampton Street. The date(s) to be determined, based on membership availability. The first meeting may last up to **SIX** (6) hours. The second may last up to **TWO** (2) hours. The members are expected to review applications over a 4-week period, which can take approximately **TWENTY-FIVE** (25) hours. The total time commitment may be up to **THIRTY-THREE** (33) hours.

Preferred Attributes: Members of the committee must be interested citizens residing in the County.

	<b>Appointment Date</b>	<b>Re-Appointment Date</b>
George Whitehead (Restaurant) (1st Term)	July 10, 2018	July 10, 2020
Terry Davis (1st Term)	June 15, 2021	June 15, 2023
Kitwanda Cyrus (Restaurant) (1st Term)	June 15, 2021	June 15, 2023
Christopher Ziegler (1 <sup>st</sup> Term)	March 15, 2022	March 15, 2024
Tanya Rodriguez-Hodges (1st Term)	October 4, 2022	October 4, 2024

Contact: Matiah Pough pough.matiah@richlandcountysc.gov 803-576-2039

Updated: 7/02/2024