

Richland County Assessor's Office

Mobile Home Department

Ebony Baker Mobile Home Ownership Specialist 803-576-2650 Phone 803-576-2681 Fax bakere@rcgov.us

John A. Cloyd SRA, RM, RES Assessor

Frequently Asked Questions-

- Registering a Mobile Home State law requires that within 15 days of purchasing a mobile home, the owner or owner's agent shall obtain a decal from the County.
 - 1. What documents do I need to register a mobile home?
 - A. Brand NEW mobile homes You will need the purchase agreement or title from the DMV, which should include the year, make, model, size and serial number of the mobile home. If your mobile home is going to be located on a property with a septic system, the Planning Department (telephone number 803-576-2190) will require the results of a perk test from DHEC, which is located in room number 1058 of the Health Department and their phone number is 803-576-2920.
 - B. USED mobile homes Very similar to new mobile homes, but you will also be required to provide the moving permit from the previous county showing all taxes have been paid. You will need the title from the DMV, which should include the year, make, model, size and serial number of the mobile home. If your mobile home is going to be located on a property with a septic system, the Planning Department will require the results of a perk test from DHEC; which is located in room 1058 of the Health Department and their phone number is 803-576-2920.
 - 2. How do I obtain a decal and have the tax bill put into my name?
 - Mobile homes being located in Richland County for the first time Once you have completed step A or B above, you will bring the completed applications that have been signed off on by the Planning Department to the Mobile Home department of the Assessor's office on the 2nd floor of the Richland County Administration building. The decal application will be completed and the Treasurer's office will issue the decal. The decal fee is \$5.
 - Previously owned mobile homes that are currently on the real property record in Richland County The new owner will need to have the original title or a copy of the original title with the new owner's name printed on the front of the title. Our office will NOT accept a title that has only been signed on the back or bill of sale to transfer ownership. South Carolina is a "title state", which means that the person's name that is on the title at the SC Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is considered the actual owner of the mobile home. So, it is a must to complete the title transfer at the DMV, before our office can make any ownership changes. Here is a link to the DMV web site for further information on titling a mobile home.
 - 3. Forms and Applications. Below are links to forms and applications that need to be completed and taken to Planning and Development Services prior to the registration of the mobile home, for the first time in Richland County. If you have any questions concerning these documents, please contact the Planning and Development department for specific answers. The telephone number for the **Planning and Development department is 803-576-2190**.
 - Instructions for Setting Up a Mobile Home in Richland County
 - Mobile Home Set-Up Application
 - DHEC's Perk Test Application-you will need to include a copy of your plat.

- Titling a Mobile Home and Retiring a Mobile Home Title Mobile homes are titled by the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (SC DMV).
 - 1. What steps do I take to get the title in my name at the SC DMV?

Please contact the **SC DMV** at **803-896-5000** or here is a link to their web site for further information on <u>mobile home</u> <u>titling</u>.

2. How do I retire my mobile home title?

This is a multiple step process and involves more than one office and you will need the original title to the mobile home.

Step 1 – Have an inspection done by a Richland County Building Inspector to certify that the mobile home is permanently attached to the property. Contact the Planning department at 803-803-576-2190 or they are located on the 1st floor of the Administration Building at 2020 Hampton Street.

Step 2 – An <u>Affidavit of Retired Title</u> will need to be completed and recorded at the Register of Deeds (ROD) office, which is located on the 1st floor of the Richland County Court House at 1701 Main Street. The telephone number for the ROD office is 803-576-1917.

Step 3 – Take the report stating that the mobile home is permanently attached to the property, the recorded copy of the Affidavit of Retired Title and a copy of the paid tax receipt and the original title to the DMV. However, please call the DMV at 803-896-5000 or visit their web site for more specific instructions.

3. Is there any sales tax due on a mobile home when I title it at the DMV - like cars?

No. Because mobile homes are taxed and assessed as real property, there is no sales tax due at the time the title is transferred at the DMV. However, there will be real property taxes due each year on the mobile home. Please see a later section titled "Property Taxes".

- Moving a Mobile Home State law requires that a moving permit be issued anytime a mobile home is moved, unless it is being moved to a home site from a dealer's lot. The moving permit is verification that all taxes have been paid.
 - 1. What year is too old to move a mobile home into or within Richland County? 1976. Per Richland County Ordinance 26-22.34c, any mobile homes manufactured prior to June 16, 1976 shall not be permitted into or moved within Richland County.
 - 2. What documentation do I need to secure a moving permit? Proof of ownership. If the person requesting the permit is someone other than the current registered owner of record, they will need to have a new title with their name on it.
 - 3. What is the fee for the moving permit? There is not a fee for the permit itself, but all taxes and pre-taxes must be paid in full.
 - 4. Who approves the site for the mobile home to be moved to? The Zoning department has to approve all sites for the location of all mobile homes. The Zoning department's telephone number is 803-576-2180.

Frequently Asked Questions (continued)-

Property Taxes – In South Carolina, mobile homes are taxed and assessed as real property. Therefore, whether the mobile home is being actively used as a residence or abandoned and in poor condition, the mobile home will remain on the tax roll. Mobile homes are NOT assessed, taxed and regulated the same as vehicles.

1. When are the real property taxes due?

Tax bills are usually mailed out at the end of October or beginning of November each year, so if you have not received your bill by the time Thanksgiving rolls around, you would want to call the **Treasurer's office at 803-576-2250**. The first penalty date is January 16th of the following year.

2. I just purchased a mobile home and there are back taxes due. Who is responsible for those taxes – me or the previous owner?

If you are the current owner of the mobile home, you are responsible for any taxes due. The reason for this is that the mobile home is being taxed and not the owner. It should be noted that the Treasurer's office cannot issue a decal in a new owner's name, until the back taxes are paid in full.

3. Can I set up a payment plan for my taxes each year?

Yes. This is set up through the Treasurer's office and you would need to call 803-576-2270.

4. If I own the land that my mobile home is located on, do I receive one tax bill for both the land and the mobile home?

Not necessarily. For the land and mobile home to be taxed together, the owner has to specifically request this in writing. If you have not formally made this request or unsure if the previous owner made the request, please contact the **Mobile Home department of the Assessor's office at 803-576-2650**. We will be able to look up this information for you.

5. What if I/we want the land and mobile home taxed together, so I/we receive only one bill?

The first and most important step is that the ownership of the land and mobile home has to match exactly. Once that requirement is satisfied, it is a matter of completing the combine form and providing it to the Mobile Home department or by coming into our office at 2020 Hampton Street to complete the <u>combine form</u>. This action needs to be completed by September 1 each year, in order for the tax bill to be prepared correctly.

6. Are the solid waste (green roll cart) charges included in the tax bill for my mobile home? No. The solid waste or roll cart charges are always billed with the land account that the mobile home is located on. This is not a procedure that can be changed.

Important telephone numbers – The list below contains telephone numbers that are frequently called for answers regarding mobile homes.

Department	Phone Number	Areas of Expertise	Location
Mobile Homes	803-576-2650	All information	2nd floor Administration building
Treasurer	803-576-2250	Taxes	2nd floor Administration building
Building Inspections	803-576-2140	Set-up permits	1st floor Administration building
Address Coordinator	803-576-2147	E-911 Address verification	1st floor Administration building
Zoning	803-576-2180	Location verification	1st floor Administration building
DHEC	803-576-2910	Perk Test	1st floor DHEC building
Register of Deeds	803-576-1910	Recording Affidavits for Retired Title	1st floor County Courthouse

Location Map - Click here